top of page
Search
  • sidelineprepsports

Dwenger's Fiacable savors 'surreal' moment

Surreal. That’s how Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger offensive lineman Vincent Fiacable describes his football path. As a third grader, Fiacable put on pads and a helmet for the first time and he began to understand the legacy and tradition his family has in the game. After all, his father played for Indiana University, as did his brothers. “I had an instant love for football, and I knew I wanted to play this game for a long time. I’ve always dreamed of playing college football, and especially for Indiana University. It is surreal that I was just a little third grade lineman, and now, I am getting all this attention for colleges,” Fiacable told Sideline Prep Sports Report. The standout told Sideline Prep Sport Report he is not surprised with the accolades and offers that came his way, pointing to the work he has put in. “I have worked for everything I have had. I put in the work day after day because I wanted to achieve my dream. I am thankful for everyone who has pushed me throughout the years and teaching me to have good work ethic,” he said. A season ago, Dwenger finished 11-2, falling to Valparaiso in the semi-state game 10-7. Fiacable said that loss has fueled him and his teammates to be the best they can be. “If I get any awards great, but I just want to play football the best I can do it. From a team standpoint, our goal is to win a state championship every year, and we are never satisfied unless we get that. We came up a little short of that last year, but we are fired up for another run this year,” he said. He has committed to Indiana, a place he said he has dreamed of playing at. “I have been going to games since I was in the first grade. Two of my brothers have played for the team in the past, and my brother used to be a student assistant there,” Fiacable said.

20 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page