top of page
Search
  • sidelineprepsports

Extra work paying off for Terre Haute South wide receiver

For as long as he can remember, James Mallory wanted to play college football. It’s a major reason why the Terre Haute South High School wide receiver puts in the extra work, lifts one more rep and it has been that way since day one of football. “I’ve been surrounded by football my entire life. For a long time, I’ve wanted to play in college,” Mallory said.

The standout is doing everything he can on the field to get noticed. A season ago, he reeled in 27 catches for 428 yards and six trips to the end zone. For his career, he has 779 yards and 10 touchdowns on only 50 receptions. “I am proud of everything I have been able to accomplish, and I know it’s all been because of all the early morning lifts and late night film sessions. I hold myself to a standard of always trying to improve, and I’d say that’s what has helped me the most,” Mallory said.

Mallory enters the 2020 campaign looking to guide Terre Haute South to its first winning season since 2014. A year ago, the Braves finished 5-5. “Heading into the season, our goals, as a team, are always to win and make the best impact on the school and the community. We have our sights set on a sectional title and, hopefully, making a run at state. Individually, I really want to improve as a leader and help hold my team accountable to a higher standard than what has been held before,” Mallory told Sideline Prep Sports Report.

Currently, the standout has been drawing attention from the likes of Ball State, Temple, Air Force, Eastern Michigan, Columbia, Yale, Indiana State, DePauw, Drake and the University of Indianapolis. “In looking at a school, academics come first for me, and then, second, definitely comes the social atmosphere with the team and the university,” Mallory said.

30 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page