top of page
Search
  • sidelineprepsports

Roncalli standout understands what it means to suit up for Rebels

With his father and brother winning state titles at Roncalli, Owen Volk completely understands what it means to suit up for the Rebels. The senior, who plays fullback and linebacker at Roncalli, got into football in kindergarten when he began playing in the Center Grove Bantam League and fell in love with it. “It continued to get more and more fun as I got to put on the pads and started hitting player. I loved watching my brother play, and my dad coached my CYO teams at St. Francis and Clare. Football has been a huge part of our family for as long as I can remember,” Volk told Sideline Prep Sports Report. While he is considered one of the better linebackers and fullbacks in the state, Volk says the success extends far beyond himself. “I have 10 other guys on my side of the ball who work hard to put me in a position to make plays because at the end of the day none of that matters if you don’t walk away with the win. I feel that my success is a product of my teammates, coaches, family and the work I put in,” Volk said. It also helps that Roncalli is a “special place,” according to Volk. “At Roncalli, you are going to be held accountable by everyone. You can’t get away with skipping reps in the weight room or not giving full effort at practice because your teammates and coaches will call you out. When a kid buys into this system, personal success is just a byproduct in an attempt to make the team better,” he said. A season ago, Roncalli turned a 1-5 start into a 7-6 campaign that featured a sectional championship and a 25-17 loss to Mt. Vernon in the regional round of the postseason. That loss is a driving force for Volk. “My goal for this Roncalli team is an undefeated, state championship season. We have all the pieces needed, and we continue to get better every day. My personal goal is an All-State season,” Volk said. Currently, the senior has heard from the likes of Valparaiso and Dayton at the next level. “I’ve recently started to get in contact with Butler as well. Outside of that, I’ve talked to several great Division III and NAIA programs like Wabash, DePauw, Mount St. Joseph and St. Francis,” he told Sideline Prep Sports Report.

308 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page