top of page
Search
  • sidelineprepsports

Football truly has changed Pioneer standout's world

While many high school football players grow up around the game, it truly was a chance meeting that introduced the game to Addai Lewellen. The Pioneer senior didn’t know what football was growing up in Africa, however, all that changed when he and his brother, Ezra, were adopted by Stephanie and Ryan Lewellen. “When they came to adopt us, they brought a foam football that they threw around with us. At the age of five, I touched my first football. When we got back to the United States, I started playing tackle football in the third grade. From there, my love and passion for football grew the more I played,” Lewellen told Sideline Prep Sports Report. Lewellen has adapted very well to not only being in America, but also the game of football. “The transition from Africa was pretty smooth. The hardest part was learning English fluently. Transitioning into a public school was not as hard as I thought it would have been. I got along well with kids in my grade and made many new friends. I believe the transition was a lot easier because I had a twin brother to help me through everything,” Lewellen said. That includes football. The two have played a key role in the success of the Panthers. Lewellen was a starter on the Panthers’ undefeated state championship teams in 2017 and 2018. A season ago, he helped Pioneer go 8-2 in its first season in the Class 2A ranks. “Last season didn’t play out so well for my team after losing in the first round of the sectionals. So coming into this season, it’s a great opportunity to restart and prove that we can win sectionals. Being in a school of 280 kids in Class A and then being moved up to the 2A ranks because of the success rule, it’s going to be challenging playing bigger teams. I would love for my team to make it to state this year. Also, I would like our team to form an unbreakable bond. I would like to hit 1,000 rushing yards this year and end with 50 tackles this year. I also want to have 10 catches on the year,” Lewellen said. Last year, he rushed for 761 yards and nine touchdowns, and also had three catches for 42 yards and a touchdown. On the defensive side, he had 46 total tackles. Lewellen told Sideline Prep Sports Report he is “blessed” to have had the success he’s had. “Starting as a freshman, it was hard for me to take in all of what the coaches were throwing at me. I knew that I would have to study and work hard to understand the new information that my coach was informing me of. Hard work pays off. But honestly, I wouldn’t be in the spot I am today without the Lord. Big thanks to him, but also my mom and dad, who have been a big factor in my success. They have pushed me and been there to encourage me to always do my best and push on. Having my family to support me is pretty amazing,” he said. For his efforts, Indiana Wesleyan is recruiting Lewellen, who holds an offer from Valparaiso. As for what he’s looking in a college, he says a couple things. “A good atmosphere for me and the right major that will help me to be successful in the future. Faith is also a big factor in my college of choice,” Lewellen said.

779 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page