top of page
Search
  • sidelineprepsports

Fort Wayne North defensive star wants to be pushed

For Fort Wayne North Side standout Arieon McCarter, he wants to be pushed. Whether it’s playing for coach Mike Brevard and the Legends, or talking about his future college plans, McCarter wants to be pushed for excellence. It’s been that way since he stepped foot on a football field at the age of 4. “I’ve been playing forever. I just fell in love the game, and it’s a good feeling because I’ve worked hard to get to where I am now and the work is starting to pay off,” said McCarter. Is it ever. A season ago, the rising senior notched 40 tackles, 27 of which were solo stops, and had two interceptions. And he has done it quietly, working hard to garner attention. “I was shocked when I started getting the attention I am receiving today because I never thought I’d be where I am now, but now that I look back and see how hard I’ve worked, I am no longer shocked because I worked for it. I just try to stay focused and perfect my craft and push through because I know everything is in God’s hands,” McCarter said. A season ago, the Legends finished 4-6 and McCarter has set the bar high for the 2020 season. “As a team, we want to go undefeated, win the SAC and win state. Me, personally, I want to lead my defense to state and have the best defense in Indiana,” he told Sideline Prep Sports Report. Currently, McCarter has an offer from Western Michigan, but he is being recruited by the likes of Indiana, Northern Illinois, Eastern Michigan, Central Michigan, Notre Dame, Miami of Ohio, Akron, Navy, Southern Illinois, Toledo and the University of Indianapolis. “What I look for in a school is a place I can call home – where I can go to my coaches about anything and they will treat me like one of their own. A place that turns boys into men and stands on character,” McCarter said.

309 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page