top of page
Search
  • sidelineprepsports

Hard work is starting to pay off for Center Grove's Griffin

For Jackson Griffin, the decision to play another position was an easy one despite playing quarterback since getting into football. The Center Grove defensive back was intrigued with the game after watching it with his father and knew early on he wanted to be a signal caller. However, as a sophomore, he came to the realization that in order to be successful and help his teammates be successful, he would have to switch to the other side of the ball. “I was a quarterback from flag football days until last year. As a sophomore, I played quarterback and safety/defensive back. I really loved quarterback, but realized I was not going to the be prototypical sized Division I quarterback. We also have an amazing quarterback in Tayven Jackson, who is also a 2022 classmate, and my goal was to get on the field immediately to make an impact for our team,” Griffin told Sideline Prep Sports Report. While some would be angry about the situation, Griffin was calm, stating the transition was an easy one for him. “I can recognize a lot of the offense’s movements and make plays on the ball,” Griffin said. And did he ever. The rising junior became one of the state’s top defensive secondary players and has spent the summer working out with his father and others in hopes of solidifying not only his position in the state but college offers. “We have worked really hard this offseason. Coach Schack has been unbelievable with all of the details he shares with me. He has worked with me on becoming a student of the game and teaching me the fundamentals so I can become elite,” Griffin said. Griffin believes the hard work will pay off, something he says his father continues to tell him. “I have been putting in so much work in the gym, running hills, watching film, etc. that I knew it was only a matter of time. My father has always taught me that hard work pays off, so I have continued to work hard this offseason. Then, at Center Grove, our moto is hard work times dedication equals success, which I love because you can apply this to anything in life,” Griffin said. A season ago, Center Grove lost to Carmel in the Class 6A state championship game, and the Trojans are focused on not only getting back, but winning. Griffin told Sideline Prep Sports Report the team has some specific goals this fall. “My goal for our team is to play every game hard, leave each game healthy and become 1-0 each week, while carrying that into the post season. Finishing the year off with a state championship would be amazing. Sending the seniors out on top would be the icing on the cake. For my personal goals, I want to get better each week, make my teammates better, stay healthy and win a state championship, while grabbing the attention of college coaches,” Griffin said. Currently, he has grabbed the attention of several Division 2 and Division 3 schools, but he hopes to hear from others. “I have had a great showing at several camps and showcases,” Griffin said.

232 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page