top of page
Search
  • sidelineprepsports

New Pal's Sturgeon commits to the Air Force Academy

As a youngster, Ethan Sturgeon would play in the New Pal Cadet Football League, often, dreaming of playing not only for the New Palestine High School team, but a college program. Those dreams have now become a reality as the New Palestine senior committed July 22 to the Air Force Academy. By doing so, he will join teammate Matt Brown, who committed earlier this summer. “I’ve loved the game of football ever since I was little. My parents signed me up for the NPCFL when I was in second grade, and I’ve loved playing ever since. Also, a big reason I loved playing was because of my dad. He was a big part of why I loved playing. He coached all of my teams when I was younger. He passed away in 2018, but I know he is still watching over me. I feel very honored and blessed to be recognized as one of the best in my position,” Sturgill told Sideline Prep Sports Report. As a junior last year, Sturgeon played a big role up front in protecting quarterback Lincoln Roth and opening running lanes for Charlie Spegal en route to helping the Dragons go unblemished and claim the Class 5A state championship. He said his success is the direct result of all the hard work and dedication he has given the game, along with the coaches at New Palestine. “Especially Coach (Kyle) Ralph. He’s helped me with my success throughout my high school career by pushing me every day and making me a better person. I would also say Coach Buchanon, Coach Keele and Coach Horan have been a huge part in my success because they are my O-line coaches, who coach me every day to get better at my position. So I would attribute my success to those people,” he said. After going undefeated and claiming a state title the last two years, New Palestine is gearing for a third straight title. However, Sturgeon said the goals extend past that. “Heading into the season, as a team, I think we all want another shot at a third state title, but the true goal is to take one game at a time and to always win the day. At the end of Friday night, all we care about is being 1-0. From an individual standpoint, my goal is to be the best teammate and leader I can possibly be on and off the field,” Sturgeon said. Sturgeon tells Sideline Prep Sports Report that he opted for the Air Force Academy because of the relationships he made with the coaching staff, along with the virtual tours he took. “I wanted to make the decision early because I knew where I wanted to go, and I didn’t want to wait any longer. It’s great to have Matt going to the academy as well. I’ve known him since I started playing football in the second grade, and we have been brothers since. That did play a little role in my decision making because of how great it would be to know someone at the academy when I’m there,” Sturgeon said.

152 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page