top of page
Search
  • sidelineprepsports

West Lafayette standout ready to write his own story

For Yanni Karlaftis, the time has come for him to write his own story. After coming to America from Greece as a child, the West Lafayette High School linebacker quickly adapted to the game. So did his brother, George, who is a standout defensive end at Purdue University, where he registered 17.5 tackles for a loss and 7.5 sacks. “I want to be my own guy, but he helps me a lot,” Karlaftis said of his brother. Karlaftis said being athletic helped his transition to football once he came to the United States, and since then, it has been a constant increase in personal statistics and notoriety. 247Sports, ESPN and Rivals all list him as a four-star recruit and Rivals has him ranked as the 165th best player in America and the 11th best outside linebacker in the country. “It feels nice to be one of the best. It is a big honor because I know I worked hard for it,” he told Sideline Prep Sports Report. A season ago, the Red Devils, who won a state championship in 2018, finished 9-3, falling to Chatard in the sectional round of the playoffs. That loss has fueled Karlaftis. “I want to be the best player in the state, and I also want my team to work hard and be the best in Class 3A,” he said. For his efforts, Karlaftis recorded 79 total tackles, 43 of which were solo stops, three quarterback hurries, two interceptions, one fumble recovery and three pass deflections in 11 games. Offensively, he put up numbers, as well. Karlaftis reeled in 29 receptions for 356 yards and five touchdowns through 11 games. The star has offers from the likes of Indiana, Notre Dame, Wisconsin, California, Purdue, Oregon, Michigan, Michigan State, Nebraska, Ohio State, Penn State, SMU and Boston College. He recently announced his top four are Wisconsin, Oregon, Purdue and Cal. “Right now, I am talking to California and Purdue. I am going to decide where I commit on Aug. 9 but both schools are really great and I see myself going to either place,” Karlaftis said.

20 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page