top of page
Search
  • sidelineprepsports

With a month to go, will there be a season?

Imagine a scenario where high school football teams play in stadiums around Indiana this season in front of no fans. Or, perhaps, there are no games. Seem far-fetched? Perhaps, but it is a sad reality coaches and players must consider in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic. Since the beginning of July, several Indiana high school football programs have had to stop practicing as a result of positive tests and players having to quarantine. It is a situation Gibson Southern High School football coach Nick Hart is “concerned” about. “Kids work so hard to get to this point, you want them to be able to experience it. We, obviously, want it to be safe. Health and safety is always your number one concern as a coach. I don’t want to sound like I’ve got my head in the sand here, because I know this is a serious situation and I don’t want to sound insensitive. But, I’m keeping my head down and trying to prepare us the best we can for week one,” Hart told Sideline Prep Sports Report. Hart said he cannot allow thoughts of not playing enter his head, as he believes he won’t have his team ready if he begins to think that way. “I don’t want to be standing on the sideline Aug. 21 going, “Man, I wish I had done this instead of worrying if we were going to play.” I’m not a doctor, me worrying about if we are playing or not is not going to help the situation. I’m trusting the doctors and officials that are a lot more knowledgeable than me on this subject to make the best decision for everyone involved,” Hart said. In Indianapolis, Tindley High School football coach Melvin Graham admits his thoughts are with the safety of his players and staff. “I would never want to see a player lose a season, but I am very concerned that the pandemic of COVID-19 could ruin the upcoming season. It has also had a major impact on college recruiting, which greatly affects many of our student-athletes,” Graham said. Hart did say he believes if it is safe for high school football, then it could some great things this year. He pointed to the fact that there have been no spring sporting events, fairs or other community events. “I’m not saying high school football solves some of the issues we have going on, but I think that sense of community could help bring some folks together. I’m biased, but I think nothing can bring a community together like Friday night lights,” Hart said.

21 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page